The Ultimate Playlist For A Bike Ride

For a particular kind of bike ride. I don’t listen to the iPod when I’m with a group. One day I’ll write a post about people whom you do not want to be near in a paceline. The guy with ear buds is one of them. Way too distracting for high intensity group rides. And on social rides, the point is being social. Nor do I listen to it when I’m doing an easy solo ride. In that case, I like to enjoy the experience, and the music tends to drown it out. On a long distance solo ride, the ear buds would eventually get on my nerves, so I don’t bother listening at all. As for towing the kids, no way. I need to be hyper sensitive to everything.

When I do a hard core solo ride, though, I like to have music playing. For short distance, high intensity rides (like my “hill” workout), the tunes do two things: Get me to ride extra hard and distract me from the pain. The best music is fast and loud. So here’s what I listened to this evening:

Let there be Rock: Drive By Truckers. The world’s greatest southern rock band honors AC/DC.

Killing in the Name: Rage Against the Machine. All time best use of the F-Bomb in song.

Stop: Jane’s Addiction. Never gets old.

Do You Want To: Franz Ferdinand.

No Sleep Till Brooklyn: Beastie Boys.

Sabotage: Beastie Boys.

Sheena is a Punk Rocker: The Ramones. Any Ramones album makes a great ride.

Possum Kingdom: The Toadies. Not really sure how this got on. But it’s good.

Rock & Roll: Led Zeppelin. This always makes me want to speed in my car. I can use all that energy without danger of a ticket while on the bike.

Explore posts in the same categories: Sports - Cycling

3 Comments on “The Ultimate Playlist For A Bike Ride”

  1. draftsonyou Says:

    You forgot Body Count, Henry Rollins, and Danzig. A little “Twist of Cain” makes you go FAST! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ju2-kCkrD5E

  2. kalosze Says:

    We stumbled over here from a different web address and thought I might as well check things out.
    I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to
    going over your web page again.


  3. I know this site provides quality depending articles or reviews and extra material, is there any other site which presents such
    things in quality?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

