My Mike Huckabee Dilemma

On the one hand, I think he’d be an atrocious president, combining the worst ignorance of the religious right with the nanny state instincts of the left. The state would be policing people’s bedrooms AND their refrigerators. I’m sure he’s a nice guy – more a God’s Politics type than a Moral Majority type – but a totalitarian is a totalitarian.

On the other hand, when asked where I went to college, it would be nice, rather than struggling to identify my school’s location and explain how to pronounce its name, to simply say, “You know, the president’s alma mater.”

(It’s in Southwest Arkansas, halfway between Texarkana and Little Rock, and it’s pronounced wash – i – tah, if you’re wondering).

Explore posts in the same categories: Big Dumb Government, God and Government, Pres '08

3 Comments on “My Mike Huckabee Dilemma”

  1. Texas Redhead Loser Says:

    This is bad news any way you slice it for OBU alum. Our school is going to be put under a microscope in a public forum when all the mudslinging starts. I really don’t want to have to defend my education (“No, it’s really a good school! We don’t all turn out to be theocrats, I promise!”) for the next however many years. This one is a no-brainer.

  2. Wheeler Says:

    yeah, i thought about that later. the huckster might cause folks to think obu is another liberty or bob jones.

    then again, the current obu pres was once slick willy’s pastor:

    “I love Rex Horne, and Becky and their children,” [pres.] Clinton said. “He was a good and faithful minister to me in good times and bad. I was elated when Ouachita chose him to be president.”


  3. […] Like I said, I’m really conflicted about Huckabee. He’d be an atrocious president, at least for anyone who believes in individual liberty and personal responsibility, but what would be horrible for the country could be great for our alma mater. […]


Leave a Reply

