Archive for January 13, 2008

“If I Woke Up Tomorrow With My Head Sewn To The Carpet”

January 13, 2008

“I wouldn’t be more surprised than I am right now.”

To put the same thing in another way, and to answer my Dad’s question, if I had bet on which Manning would be playing golf next weekend, it would definitely have been Eli.

Of course, now my team loyalties are in conflict with my general football fan loyalties; I think it’s obvious that Packers-Pats is a much more interesting Super Bowl than Giants-Pats. For one, the Giants have already had their shot at Brady and Company. For another, how amazing would it be for Brett Favre – toast a year ago – to finish his career by defeating the Evil Empire (of Football) to win the Super Bowl? Finally, given the man crush every announcer has on Favre, what could possibly be a better drinking game than taking a shot every time you hear his name in the Super Bowl?

I’m not the only one conflicted, either. The wife grew up in Mississippi and is a huge Ol’ Miss fan, so she always pulls for Eli. But Favre is also from Mississippi, and she’s in love with him, so she roots for the Pack, too. Neither of us know what to do.

I guess it’s all academic, though, as the NFC Championship is really a fight for the right to get slaughtered by the Pats.