Those People All Look The Same

When I was in law school, I took part in a volunteer program in which I would go to a local school once a week and talk to the kids about the basics of the law as it applies to juveniles. The school to which I was assigned was about ninety nine per cent black. On my first day there, the kids said as I entered the classroom: “What’s up John Stockton?”

Today, as I entered one of the other classrooms in the school in which I now teach – which is about eighty per cent black – a few of the kids said “Here come Yao Ming.”

For those of you who are unfamiliar with me, Yao, and Stockton, here’s a picture of each of us. See if you can tell who is who.

Explore posts in the same categories: Teaching

4 Comments on “Those People All Look The Same”

  1. Mary Ann Says:

    I’ve always confused you with Jimmy Stewart, myself. But I don’t think he played basketball.

  2. Hot Momma Says:

    Yeah…I can see where you get that, Mary Ann 🙂


  3. […] an amusing illustration, the kids in school, who’ve previously compared me to Yao Ming, now think I look like Michael Phelps. We’ve all got dark hair. We’re all pretty fair. […]

  4. draftsonyou Says:

    Yao, Is that Danny Devito next to you?


Leave a Reply

