Executing Child Rapists

Scotus heard oral arguments today on Louisiana’s extension of the death penalty to child rapists. I’ve blogged about this previously, here, and here. The local paper mentions the case – which will affect a Caddo Parish case, too – here. You can get more technical coverage of today’s arguments at the Scotus Blog.

I’m sticking with my original prediction: 5-4 (with Kennedy providing the tie breaker) that Louisiana’s law is unconstitutional. Like I said earlier, I think that is what will happen, but I hope it does too, just so we can see Scalia’s head explode in response:

And [Scotus] does strike it down, that’s fine with me. Not because I care about the substantive issue, but because outside of Steve Spurrier (and maybe Baghdad Bob), no-one is more entertaining in defeat that Justice Scalia.

And if the law does fail, I hope someone will try to replace it with the Bible’s plan for child rapists:

If a man happens to meet a virgin who is not pledged to be married and rapes her and they are discovered, he shall pay the girl’s father fifty shekels of silver. He must marry the girl, for he has violated her. He can never divorce her as long as he lives.

I mean, really, if the Bible is the foundation of our government and morality and all that, what are we waiting for? But of course, no one will have the guts.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Executing Child Rapists”


  1. […] Can’t Execute Child Rapists As I predicted, so said Scotus today. The opinion is here. I don’t care about the result, I’m just […]


Leave a Reply

