Summer Vacation, Day 1

7:15. Get out of bed, absent alarm. Two hours later than usual.

7:15 – 8:30. Have breakfast, drink coffee, read news (I will interpret the Mets taking two of two from the Yankees as a good omen for the summer), plan ride.

8:30 – 9:00. Enjoy first 8 miles of ride. Sunny, cool. Monday morning and I’m not at work.

9:00 – 9:10. Discover road I need to take is now dirt, as it’s in the middle of repaving. Curse Shreveport Times, as this was NOT on today’s list of road closures. Debate taking 4 mile detour, decide against it, and head off road. Bike now filthy.

9:20. After leaving dirt road and getting on next leg of trip, discover that a mile stretch of that road is still under water from last week’s storms. Curse Times again, because, again, this was NOT on the list of road closures. There is no detour this time. Debate riding through, but when it reaches my hubs, I turn around and decide on another route. Bike now fairly clean.

10:15. Reach turn around of new ride. 30 miles so far.

11:00. As I make my way back into town, car pulls along side me and I get ready for a cussing. Instead, it’s one of my riding buddies. He asks what I’m doing, I say “enjoying the first day of summer” as I watch him drive off in his suit and tie. Heh.

11:30. Roll into the driveway. 52 miles total.

11:30 – 1:00. Shower. Lunch (three eggs, english muffin, two large glasses of grape juice). Post on blog.

[What follows is the plan for the rest of the day]

1:00 – 4:30. Watch kids while Momma goes to work (heh). Ideally, they will sleep for at least half of this time, allowing me to read my book for a while and also take a nap. Otherwise, we’ll play at the house, then maybe load up the bike trailer and go to the park, or maybe the coffee shop or Sonic.

4:30 – 6:00. Go to store to get stuff we need for BIG TRIP. Plan route for BIG TRIP.

6:00 – 7:30. Play with kids, have dinner, get kids ready for bed (yeah!)

7:30 -? Sit on front porch and drink bottle of wine. Catch up on shows we dvr’d last week. Watch Hornets-Spurs game seven. Read book. Go to bed whenever I want. It’s not like I’ve got to got to work tomorrow.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “Summer Vacation, Day 1”

  1. the other teacher in the family... Says:

    Congrats on the 1st day of summer break! I am counting down the time until I am rid of my little ones and enjoying the laid back ways of summer.

  2. ATodd Says:

    yeah right other teacher… you won’t be able to rest and relax until after June 14th!! lol You guys suck!!


Leave a Reply

