Leave Me Alone And Let Me Do My Job

Most teachers, if asked what the administration could do to help them, would probably say something like “support.” I don’t even want that. I don’t care if I have to handle all discipline problems on my own, supply all my own paper and pens and other office stuff, and generally work as an independent contractor. In fact, I would like that if I also got the benefits of being an independent contractor: The freedom to use my intelligence and skills to evaluate the job and do it in the best way possible. What I get, though, is paperworked, micromanaged, and meetinged to death.

It’s not like I’m a sorry teacher in need of special attention. I always score highly on my observations, my iLeap scores were the best in the school and a big improvement over the year before I arrived, and the kids seem to like me. Nope. There are just too many non-teaching education professionals who need to justify their existence. So what they do is make mine miserable.

Tonight was the first meeting of what will be the last class of my alternative certification program at LSUS. Typically of first class meetings, we all had to introduce ourselves. In additon, we had to explain why we decided to become teachers. Everybody gave idealistic, save-the-children type rationals. When it was my turn, I said: “It must be because I enjoy stupid meetings and useless paperwork, because that’s about all I’ve done since school started.” Everyone laughed. Loudly.

Seriously, if any principal really wants happy and productive teachers, the secret isn’t money, it’s letting us do our jobs.

Explore posts in the same categories: Teaching

One Comment on “Leave Me Alone And Let Me Do My Job”

  1. draftsonyou Says:

    Did you just inadvertently call for the privatization of the teaching function? You must be some kind of libertarian.

    Perhaps the lack of change within the public education system has, over time, allowed for the proverbial suckling by the unproductive. This sounds oddly familiar to the state govt. system with which I am affiliated.


Leave a Reply

