The Babies’ First Day of School

Is today. Okay, it’s not really school (just Mother’s Day Out), and they did go to MDO last year. But this year seems different. They’re at a new program at Broadmoor United Methodist Church and, unlike where they were last year, this one is very similar to what school will be like. They have a daily schedule with craft time, story time, lunch, and nap time. Mac and Omi will be bringing their own lunchboxes, backpacks, and nap mats. It all seems too much like how kindergarten will be in just a few years. While I’m looking forward to a few hours on my own, I’m not sure I’m ready for the thought of them going to real school. Luckily, some friends of mine with kids in the same program as Mac and Omi are going with me to lunch at Olive Street Bistro today. We’re all hoping that takes our minds off leaving our babies in a strange setting. I managed to not cry or break down last year when I dropped them off for the first day; I’m hoping the same holds true today. We’ll see.

The babies modeling their new backpacks.

The babies modeling their new backpacks.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

9 Comments on “The Babies’ First Day of School”

  1. Nana Says:

    They are so little…..and the backpacks are so big!! By the way – nice deck.

  2. Hot Momma Says:

    Yep, they looked really weighed down carrying their backpacks, lunchboxes, and napmats (they didn’t want Mommy’s help!) into their room this morning. And, sad day! I cried my eyes out all the way back to the van 😦 I was fine as I left their room, then one of the other moms in the hall asked if I was okay and I just lost it! Talk about feeling silly 🙂 But, the important thing is that the babies did not cry at all! Mac had found a “big truck” and Omi had found a tractor to play with by the time I left and I don’t even think they knew I was gone.

  3. Suzy-Q Says:

    Awe! What a cute pic! They look like they’re ready to take on the world!!!

  4. the other teacher in the family... Says:

    Can they come and visit my classroom?

  5. KC Says:

    enjoy the time , Wheeler, you blink and then like me, your youngest is a freshman in college…..folks told me it goes by fast and I had no clue what they meant!

  6. Loretta Nall Says:

    Its normal to cry at times like this. I cried on the first day of daycare and school for both of my kids. When I took my 16 year old son to Mobile in August and left him at Alabama School of Math and Science for his jr & sr years I squaled for a week before, all through the process of getting him set up in his room, all the 250 miles back home and for a week afterward. It is hard to see our babies grow up.

    Those two sweeties are to die for cute in those back packs.

  7. Himself Says:

    Even grandpas get tears in their eyes on days like this.

    Other Teacher in the Family: What, no Vera Bradley for Omi? And maybe some camo for Mac from Uncle Billy?

  8. Mary Ann Says:

    I think it’s safe to say that we’re all waiting to hear how their first day was…


  9. […] yesterday was Mac and Omi’s first day at BUMC, I picked them up before naptime. The director of the program recommended this since they have […]


Leave a Reply

