About Those Gustav Evacuees

When news of the “deplorable” shelter conditions went national, I said that the folks who ought to be complaining are the volunteers who worked the shelters. I know I’m a hurricane behind, but be sure to read this post by a nurse who volunteered at one of the shelters. A sample:

True – some things were not optimal for the evacuation and the shelters need some modification. At any point, does anyone address the responsibility (or irresponsibility) of the evacuees? Does it seem wrong that one would remember their cell phone, charger,cigarettes and lighter but forget their child’s insulin? . . .

Am I less than compassionate when it frustrates me to scrub emesis (clinical word for vomit – DR) from the floor near a nauseated child while his mother lies nearby, watching me work 26 hours straight, not even raising her head from the pillow to comfort her own son?

Why does it insense me to hear a man say “I ain’t goin’ home ’til I get my FEMA check” when I would love to just go home and see my daughters who I have only seen 3 times this week?

Makes you want to vote Republican.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “About Those Gustav Evacuees”

  1. walt moffett Says:

    personal and parental responsibility, what obsolete concepts in this day and age.

  2. KC Says:

    I guess if you have a wrongful sense of entitlement, there is no need to show any appreciation for assitance….

  3. wheeler Says:

    that’s it. the sad part is that prior to the storms, i cynically joked about people getting mad about their inability to collect their monthly checks.


Leave a Reply

