A Suggestion For POTUS Candidates: Good Weather Days

Lots of folks missed school or work because of the recent hurricanes. Other parts of the country will miss time this year because of snow. Here’s my question: Why do we only get days off for crappy weather? How about time off when it’s beautiful? Today, for instance, will feature a high in the seventies, with a nice breeze and blue skies. Here’s my suggestion for the two candidates: If you want my vote, promise you’ll work on legislation guaranteeing time off for beautiful weather.

Seriously, it has to be some kind of sin to be stuck inside under fluorescent lights on a day this gorgeous. Sure, there’s time after work. I could go for a walk. Or a quick ride. Or take the kids to the park. And I will do one of those. That’s not enough, though. To truly appreciate the weather, you need to spend a significant portion of the day outside. That means I ought to be loading up my mountain bike for a day on the trails. Or starting a long road ride. Or heading to a bigger park for a picknick or something. Instead, I just hope I can squeeze in a few hours after work. And when the time changes, I won’t even be able to do that.

I know John McCain is a Republican, so things like the outdoors and fun have no inherent value to him. Consider, though, that happy workers are productive workers. This would save the economy. Also, even the most sedentary person feels drawn to outdoor activity on super nice days. So make it easy for us to get off the couch, get outside, and exercise. That would lead to better health, which would lead to lower medical costs for all of us.

I’m not asking for every nice day to be work free. Just give us five “good weather days”, which we can use on any day when the sun will be out and the high will be between sixty five and seventy five. We’ll all be better for it.

Explore posts in the same categories: POTUS '08

2 Comments on “A Suggestion For POTUS Candidates: Good Weather Days”

  1. hereinfranklin Says:

    I think that’s a fabulous idea…but I sincerely hope that Obama endorses it and not McCain. Also, I think we should get a few (maybe 3) days off to volunteer. After all, what better way to to encourage public service?

  2. wheeler Says:

    but i don’t want to work on my days off.


Leave a Reply

