The Beard Debate

I hate shaving. So when I had two weeks off for Christma, and thus no reason to shave, I didn’t, or at least no more than needed to keep a trim beard. Anyway, now it’s been three weeks and I’m trying to decide whether to continue with the beard or go back to normal.

I’m about 70/30 in favor of it. Jenny likes it. Mac and Omi haven’t seemed to notice. My co-workers who have commented have all spoken positively. But they’re adults, they have to say something nice, or else nothing.

That rule doesn’t apply to my students. With them, it’s about half and half. One of them told me it looked “rugged” and that it probably helped me with the ladies. (I’ve sanitized his exact words. And it does not matter how many times you tell them you are happily married, they remain convinced every teacher is secretly a player). On the other hand, one of the girls I taught last year, when she first saw me with the beard, said “Ugh! You ugly. You need to shave that mess off yo’ face.” Another put it somewhat more gently by saying “You used to be pretty, now you just look old.” I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve been called Abraham Lincoln, Sasquatch, or told I should be in that “Gecco” commercial.

Of course, even if I decide to keep it, I’ll have more issues. Like, how bushy it ought to be. I’m partial to the current length, which is fairly trim. On the other hand, going all out – ZZ Top style – would be fun, if for nothing else than my students’ reactions. I could get around school grooming requirements by saying it was my LEAP Beard, kind of playoff beard for the standardized tests. Or I could compromise, and do the same thing, but with a goatee. My other compromise plan it to shave it when the weather warms in the spring and then grow it back again next Christmas break. It could become an annual event. Keep me from getting bored with myself, and give my students some entertainment on that otherwise depressing first day back.

Anyway, here’s the two options:

For those unfamiliar, the clean shaven me (I’m on the right):

imgp1302

And with the beard:

Hah! Just kidding. Here’s the real thing:

imgp1615

And another view:

imgp1621

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

5 Comments on “The Beard Debate”

  1. Greenshirt Says:

    Speaking from experiece: it’s fun to grow but much harder to decide to shave off. It becomes “you” and you get stuck with it.

  2. Joe Says:

    It does not make you look old. That happens when the grey begins to appear in the beard. I speak from experience.

    Keep it till spring. I like that plan.

  3. Wheeler Says:

    so far it’s gray-free. good thing, too. gray hair is something else my students are not shy about pointing out.

  4. Steph Says:

    I have to say, I do see what your students are saying about the gecco commercial. HAHA! Nevermind that, I say keep it. I like the rugged look.

  5. draftsonyou Says:

    Two words: Goose Gossage!


Leave a Reply

