Less Than A Month To Go

That’ll be my mantra today, the first day back from spring break. I know I certainly don’t want to go to school today. We had a good break, with family in town. I finished several projects around the house. Rode my bike seven days in a row. Slept until 7:30 every day. The week off really put me in summer mode.

If I feel that way, I know my students will even more so. Especially because we finished the BIG TESTS two days prior to the break. The most popular question/complaint today will be some variation of “why do we still have school after the tests?” In my class, the answer is because we haven’t finished the story yet. Don’t you want to know who wins the Civil War and how the country is put together again? Of course they don’t. Or they would never admit it if they did. So the other answer is because the stuff they learn between now and the end of the year will be on next year’s BIG TEST.

Like my students, I still have plenty of stuff to do. Not just teach, it’s never just teach. I still have a few hoops through which I need to jump so I can be certified next year. As with all that kind of crap, none of it will be difficult, but it will be time consuming and a pain in the butt. I also need to find a new job. All of this will keep me busy until the end, so I can’t put it on cruise. Even so, I’ve already said to myself “I only have to hear that alarm clock 22 more times this year.”

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “Less Than A Month To Go”

  1. Mt Princess Says:

    34 more for me 🙂

  2. Sandy Beatty Says:

    I remember those countdowns! 38 years for me!


Leave a Reply

