Does This Make Me A Fair Weather Fan?

The Mets have now won seven games in a row and are in first place all by themselves. Johan Santana has an ERA under one. Carlos Beltran is batting .375. The bullpen – the biggest problem last year – looks good. My reaction? I don’t care. I don’t care. I don’t care.

After the historic collapses of the last two years I am paying no attention at all to my favorite team until they either clinch a playoff spot or are eliminated from playoff contention. I won’t watch them any more than anyone else. I refuse to read updates about the team. I’m not even rooting against the Phillies and Braves. Until the post season is set, the Mets are just another team.

It’d be one thing if they had been an awful team for the last two years. It’s not hard to stick with your team when they stink. There’s no stress involved in a last place finish. Having them come thisclose to the playoffs only to blow it as no team had blown it before? That hurts.

To avoid that pain I’m assuming they will do the same thing again this year. I can’t prevent a collapse. I can, though, prevent myself from emotionally investing in the team’s success. Thus, when the collapse occurs it makes no difference to me.

I don’t think that makes me a fair weather fan, either. Sure, it seems like it fits the definition. But a fair weather fan is someone who never followed a bad team but then becomes a fan when that team starts winning. In my case, I am refusing to follow a GOOD team. Also, this is a quid pro quo. I don’t want to experience the last two years again. The only way I can control that is to cut off my support. The Mets, though, can change things by winning games in September. They do that, I come back.

Until then? They’re dead to me.

Explore posts in the same categories: Sports - MLB

3 Comments on “Does This Make Me A Fair Weather Fan?”

  1. Himself Says:

    Your aunt would have taken the wooden spoon to you if she heard you talk like this.

    And, I can’t believe that I’m saying this, we can learn something from the Red Sox Nation. They never lost hope, even after each and every time that they snatched defeat from the jaws of victory.

    I did hear that the Washington Nationals have openings in their fan club if you want to follow up on your premise in your third paragraph.

  2. Jackie Says:

    I guess the 1986 World Series Baseball signed by both
    Mookie Wilson and Bill Buckner will have to find a different home. Let’s Go Mets!

  3. Wheeler Says:

    i should add that even considered objectively i don’t think they’re making the playoffs. not with stiffs like oliver perez starting every five days.


Leave a Reply

