The Sports Guy v. Olbermann

Man, I hope this fight continues. Here’s Olbermann on Bill Simmons’s recent comparison of comebacks by Muhamed Ali and Tiger Woods:

If the writer can let me know when Woods is punitively drafted by the military even though he is about eight years older than almost all the other draftees, I’ll begin to take him seriously. In the interim I am again left to marvel how somebody can rise to a fairly prominent media position with no discernible insight or talent, save for an apparent ability to mix up a vast bowl of word salad very quickly.

Sure, the Ali-Woods comparison might not be exact, but even if that article flunks, Olbermann is totally wrong in his generalizations about Simmons’s talent. Read the typical crap on ESPN or Fox and then read Simmons. He’s light years beyond the average sportswriter or broadcaster. In any event, at least Olbermann could have used the guy’s name when he slammed him.

Simmons’s response is dead on:

“KO, please know the feeling is mutual,” he tweeted. “You’re my worst case scenario for my career in 12 yrs: a pious, unlikable blowhard who lives alone.” Still not satisfied, Simmons added: “I feel bad about saying Olbermann lives alone. I forgot about his cats.”

Like I said, I hope there will be more of this to come.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

