Franklin Graham Is An Idiot

I don’t get the National Day of Prayer.

I don’t mean the Constitutional issues; I agree wholeheartedly with the judge who said the government has no business calling on people to pray. Congress telling people to pray fairly obviously endorses religion. You can argue it’s a de minimis violation. Or that it’s a long-standing violation. Or that there’s some other reason to except it from the Constitution. But I think the violation itself is clear.

No, what confuses me is why any religious person cares about it. I mean, if the President is going to call people to pray, he has to include everyone. No specifics, no details, no divisive doctrines – just an urging to mumble some vague stuff towards a broadly defined non-corporeal essence. So, really, if I’m a die-hard believer, I’m supposed to get worked up over that? Isn’t this the kind if thing that makes Jesus mad?

These are the words of the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the ruler of God’s creation. I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth.

According to that, you’re better off being a heathen like me than taking part in civic religion. (If you think Jesus’s mouth is a good place to be, that is.)

Anyhoo, that’s reason number one Franklin (bin Billy) Graham – a chief supporter of the National Day of Prayer – is an idiot. He’s as serious a “Jesus is the only way” type as you’re going to find. So why he wants the POTUS to call all religions to pray is beyond me.

The other reason he’s an idiot is this quote about the recent court decision finding the National Day of Prayer unconstitutional:

“It think it is waking people up across this land,” Graham said of the federal court decision. “I think people realize, many Christians, how we’re losing our religious freedoms a little bit everyday and if we don’t stand up and exercise the freedoms that God has given us in this country, we will lose them.”

Franky, if you’d paid attention in civics class, you’d know that the First Amendment only prohibits GOVERNMENT actions. All that court case does it prevent the GOVERNMENT from calling a national day of prayer. That case may be wrong, but it has absolutely nothing to do with you or your followers’ religious freedom. You are just as free to be a moron today as you were the day before the decision.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

