House Kills Accountability For Students

We don’t want to expect too much from them:

A bill that would expand a new minimum grade rule for public school athletes failed in a state House committee Wednesday. The House Education Committee voted 11-4 to shelve the measure, which essentially kills it. The proposal is House Bill 186. The bill would require public school students in grades 6-12 to maintain at least a “C” average to take part in athletics and other extracurricular activities.

Currently, to play high school sports, students need at least a “C.” The bill would have expanded that rule to middle school sports and to all extracurricular activities.

I think that would have been great. I can’t tell you how many times – when told by a student that they can’t study for the next day’s test because they “have a game” – that I have had to explain that extracurricular means “in addition to” and not “instead of” school. And that applies to any activity: Band, cheerleading, debate, whatever. I don’t know why athletes are singled out for minimum requirements. All these activities are equally capable of enriching or undermining the main reason for school: An education. So make them all face the same standards.

A “C” would be a good standard, too. As it is now, you can fail half your classes and still play. With a “C”, you’d have to at least pass everything. Personally, I’d make it a “B.” That way you can’t do any extras unless you prove you’re excelling at the main subject. But I’m just a teacher. What do I know.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

4 Comments on “House Kills Accountability For Students”

  1. Darla Wells Says:

    I had a student tell me once she couldn’t come to class because she had to go to choir or softball practice or something like that. This kid was in every extracurricular activity known to man. I told her class was mandatory, but that stuff wasn’t. She told me that that stuff was what was paying for college in the first place. Silly me. She was going to be an anesthesiologist, could barely read, was my biggest plagiarist, had the cojones to protest when I flunked her for it. Wonder how she’s doing now?

  2. raviner Says:

    I guess that rule is already in place in Texas because I had to maintain a “C” to do theater in high school. I was flunking algebra II and got knocked out of “South Pacific.” It wasn’t huge motivation though, since I never enjoyed doing musicals. I agree it’s a good rule that shouldn’t just apply to athletes.

  3. Wheeler Says:

    “I never enjoyed doing musicals”

    haha. the only thing funnier than the idea of you in musical is, well, the idea of me in a musical.

    not that i doubt your talent, of course.

    • raviner Says:

      You should have seen the crap they forced me to do in the church choir for 10 awful years. I have 6 or 7 musicals under my belt. Never question why I’m moving toward agnosticism.


Leave a Reply

