Why People Think Southerners Are Stupid

So there’s a goober election in one of my former home states: Alabama. One of the Republican candidates is Roy Moore (he’s like a bad penny). With nothing but his fifteen minutes of infamy on which to run, all he can do is attack the religious beliefs of his opponents, which he does in this ad accusing Bradley Byrne of – horrors – believing in evolution.

If you’re not from the South, you probably expect Byrne to respond as would any person with at least an eighth grade education, by pointing out: 1) Of course he believes in evolution, as does every other rational person in the world, and 2) his religious beliefs are really no one’s business. If you are a thinking person from the South, though, you know such a response would immediately end his candidacy. Hence, the following:

“As a Christian and as a public servant, I have never wavered in my belief that this world and everything in it is a masterpiece created by the hands of God,” [Byrne] said. “As a member of the Alabama Board of Education, the record clearly shows that I fought to ensure the teaching of creationism in our school text books. Those who attack me have distorted, twisted and misrepresented my comments and are spewing utter lies to the people of this state.”

“My opponent accused me of being an intelligent person. The truth is, dear sheeple, I am just as backwards and ignorant as him! Not only that, I fought to make our state’s children just as ignorant!” And in Southern politics, that’s a GOOD thing. They’re fighting over who is the dumbest. The winner gets to be governor.

Meanwhile, the few of us who live in the reality-based community hang our heads in shame.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Why People Think Southerners Are Stupid”

  1. Jim Says:

    Sad commentary. When I did a blog post last year against Louisiana’s law to teach ‘creationism’ in public schools, my point was clearly stated. Science is based on empiricism and religion on faith. Science should be taught in the schools and religion at home and at church. This was only one of the comments I received (in Christian love, I’m sure):
    “You are being shown for the fraud that you truly are and your opinions are worthless.”


Leave a Reply

