The Summer Of Sookie Is Over

Sometime back in May or so, my wife got me hooked on the books. Saturday, I closed the cover on number eight (or nine? they all run together, eventually). Though I’ll continue watching True Blood, the t.v. show based on the books, it’ll probably be a while before I read the last few books in the series.

If you haven’t read any, they’re worth the time. Sookie, the main character, is a waitress in a bar in some podunk town in north Louisiana. She’s also telepathic. That makes her feel like a freak, until her powers help her save a vampire, whom she then falls in love with. (Hmm, an oddball who finds acceptance and meaning with the undead? Sound familiar? Just know these books predate that other romantic vampire series by a decade.) Many escapades, with many other freaks, follow.

Still, I think I’ve overdone it, averaging about two of these a month, with little substance to balance it. Actually, that probably ought to read “no substance.” The only other authors whom I’ve read this summer are Carl Hiaassen and Ian Banks. There might have been a James Lee Burke or two, not that he helps much. In short, I’ve done the reading equivalent of spending two months eating nothing but Twinkies and pop rocks.

So I need a break. Like I said, we’ll still watch the show, but no more books for a while. I need to read some non-fiction, or at least some serious fiction.

As for the former, I’m starting with Come & Gone, by Joe Parkin, about being, as he calls it, a “blue collar” bike racer in America. He wrote a similar book about racing in Europe. They’re great books, because they explain the experience as it is for ninety-nine of one hundred pros: Hard, uncertain, and poor. Yet, they still ride. Anyway, after that, probably A Voyage Long and Strange, by Tony Horwitz. I loved Confederates in the Attic, and am looking forward to how Horwitz covers this subject: The years in North America between Columbus and the Pilgrims. Then, Zeitoun, by Dave Eggers, about a couple who remained in New Orleans during Katrina.

For fiction, I don’t know. Ian McEwan’s latest will be first. After that? Dunno. But, it won’t be anything featuring you know who . . .

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “The Summer Of Sookie Is Over”

  1. raviner Says:

    I love Confederates in the Attic! I haven’t read anything else by Horwitz so I may have to check out A Voyage Long and Strange also. If you read it, let me know what you think.


Leave a Reply

