Different Worlds

Yesterday, my four year old twins awoke with the sun. They probably yawned. Maybe they rearranged the covers and all their little stuffed animals with whom they share their warm beds. Eventually, they grabbed a few of those friends and wandered into Mommy and Daddy’s room, where they climbed into our bed. We then spent half an hour or so lounging and playing before starting the day.

Then we sat together in the kitchen, Mom and Dad drinking coffee, the kids having milk and cereal. They colored for a while. We admired their artwork. All of this before I helped them pick out their clothes and get dressed so we could spend the day at the Fair.

Now consider this poor kid’s Friday morning:

A 4-year-old boy found walking across the Interstate 20 right-of-way in west Shreveport Friday morning is believed to have been taken from his mother after an argument with her boyfriend, police said.

A motorist headed down Interstate 20 west of the state fairgrounds said she spotted the little boy walking alone toward the highway, stopped to help him and called police. The child appeared unharmed but was taken to the hospital as a precaution.

The boyfriend was arrested a short time later walking near Shreveport Regional Airport. He was arrested on kidnapping charges. Police said the incident began about 8:30 a.m. Friday after the child’s mother called police to say her boyfriend had raped her the night before at the Greenwood Road motel where they were staying. The boyfriend got mad and left with the boy, police said.

Not sure what to say. I mean, I’m a hard hearted SOB, and, obviously, both the mom and boyfriend need to be shot, yet this story makes me more sad than angry. While my kids were waking up in their own beds in their own home, this kid was stuck in an hourly rate hotel. My kids snuggled in a warm bed with Mom and Dad. Meanwhile, this kid witnessed a man rape his mother. My kids had breakfast. Food was the least of this kid’s concerns. We all left together in the family van. Near our destination for the day, this kid wandered by himself onto an interstate highway. He was in great physical danger, but, even without the interstate part, this story would make me depressed. I think I’ll go hug my kids now.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Different Worlds”

  1. Jim Says:

    I saw that on the news, it’s heartbreaking. It also made me think of my 4 year old granddaughter in her safe and happy world.


Leave a Reply

